About C of E Alumni Association

Since the closing of the College,

the Alumni Association has been charged with keeping the Fighting Presbie Spirit alive. It has done so in four major ways.
By the establishment of the College of Emporia Scholarship for current college students with C of E relatives.
By producing a periodic newsletter to keep alumni informed of alumni news and the status of the campus and its various buildings.
By sponsoring alumni reunions and supporting regional and local gatherings.
By maintaining the overall heritage of the College of Emporia.
The association has a 501 C3 non-profit status and can accept gifts from donors on a tax- exempt basis. The association is made up of C of E alumni and faculty from across the United States and many foreign countries. Annual dues help to cover the expenses incurred with the scholarship fund and the printing and distribution of the newsletter

Alumni Membership Form Click Here

Membership Report

2009 - 680 Members
2010 - 668 Members                                                                                                                                                             2011 - 549 Members                                                                                                                                                             2012 - 595 Members                                                                                                                                                             2013 - 277 Members paid dues

Identification and Purpose (Adopted July 23, 2005)

The College of Emporia Alumni Association, Inc. is a non-profit organization of alumni and friends of The College of Emporia (1882-1974) who have incorporated under the laws of the State of Kansas to foster and support the moral concepts and the high ideals of scholarship and character for which The College of Emporia was known.

To accomplish these objectives it is the intent of this Association to provide and maintain and Open Scholarship Program for scholarship grants to any accredited college, university, or vocational school identified to be "higher education" for descendents of alumni, former students, and/or employees of the former College of Emporia, to maintain a Director of Alumni, to preserve and display selected memorabilia of the College of Emporia, and to publish a newsletter at least twice yearly for the edification of its members.


Relocation of Stuart Hall Bell and World War Plaques

Transcript maintenance at Emporia State University

Sponsorship of Major Reunions:
1982 - Denver, CO
1988 - Kansas City, MO  near the Plaza
1992 - Kansas City, Mo  near the Plaza
1996 or 97 - Kansas City, Mo near the Airport                                                                                                                      1998 Baltimore, MD                                                                                                                                                              2000 - Emporia, KS
2004 - Overland Park, KS
2007 - Overland Park, KS
2010 - Overland Park, KS                                                                                                                                                     2012 - Philadelphia, PA                                                                                                                                                         2013 - Overland Park, KS                                                                                                                                                      2015 - East Coast (It's a Shore Thing)                                                                                                                                  2016 - Emporia, Kansas            

Establishment of C of E Scholarships from 1982 through 2006 and Beyond

Establishment of various markers on C of E Campus

The Elected Board

CLASS 0F 2016

Art Campbell (70) Prairie Grove, AR                                                                                                                                  Megan Evans (70) Halstead, KS                                                                                                                                         Chuck Ireland (67) Girard, KS                                                                                                                                                John Keliher (69) Wichita, KS                                                                                                                                                  Bill Linhard (68) Emporia, KS                                                                                                                                           Barbara Mathis (63) Leavenworth, KS                                                                                                                              Maxine Mitchell (54) Emporia, KS

Class 2017

Joanna (Mutschler) Brooks  (71) Ballwin, MO
Carolyn (Cruikshank) Day  (60)  Pembroke Pines, FL
Olivia (Medina) Moore  (64) Council Grove, KS
Arthur Snyder (65) Plano, TX
Norman Tice (61) Wichita, KS
Earl Visser (61) Lincoln, NE

Class 2018

Evert 'Chip" Barger  (74)  Kansas City, MO
Allen Gill (69)  Lake St Louis, MO
Mary Jayne (Barnes) Gamble (70)  Phillipsburg, NJ
Jim Mathis (61)  Leavenworth, KS
Andy Klein (72)  Pittsburgh, PA
Janis (irving) Bosch  (52)                                                                                                                                                         Jim Brooks (72)

Appointed Offices

Scholarship: Clarence Howland (58) Emporia, KS

Nominating: Sue Nispel (59) Wichita,KS

Historian: Linda Myers (62) Pryor, OK

Memorabilia: Everett "Chip" Barger (74) Kansas City, MO

Reunion: Sue Nispel (59) Wichita,KS

Newsletter/Commun: John Acomb (64) Beloit WI

Webmasters: Megan Evans (70) Halstead,KS  / Chuck Ireland (67) Girard, KS

Local Contact:  Belle Grimsley  (59)  Americus, KS

2015 Alumni Officers

These members meet bi-annually to carry on the business of the association. These meetings are generally held in Emporia. Executive Committee members confer at least quarterly.

President: Roger Klein  (72)

President Elect:  Jim Brooks

Past President: Jim Mathis  (61)  Levevnworth, KS

VP/Membership: Les Palmer (63) Prairie Village, KS

Treasurer: Cecil Lane (71) Lebo, KS

Secretary: Sue Nispel (59) Wichita, KS