Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominations are now being solicited for the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Awards. 

Individuals who will be honored must be nominated. The nomination form can be downloaded below. Deadline for submission of nominations is TBD

This award will allow us to share stories of the way C of E has had a huge impact on others, sometimes world wide, through the careers of graduates and former students. It’s not too early to nominate someone.




2018 Class

We are proud to present the recipients of the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Awards.  They have significantly contributed to the welfre and safety of our country.

Ray Sager (A65)

For a distinguished military career and the vital leadership in establishing the C of E Alumni Association's East Coast Reunions.

Roger Sager (A71)

For hi service to his country as well as to the C of E Alumni Association.   


2016 Class

We are proud to announce the recipients of the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Awards to the following for they have meaningly contributed to the advancement of human knowledge.

L.J. Corcoran (A64)

For his career with NASA wherein he played key roles in the Apollo missions, Skylab and the Joint Russian and American space station.

Julia Hudson (A59)

For her lifelong work in educating several generations of children, many disadvantaged, in northern New Mexico.

Ted Vermandakis (A65)

For his research and developmental work, which enhanced clarity and color in printing processes and contributed to enviromental improvement.

Andreas Vikis (A64)

For his groundbreaking work for Atomic Energy of Canada, LTD.,including two patents and authorship of over 100 publications.  


2015 Class

We are proud to announce the following recipients of the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award to those that have significantly contributed to the betterment of their communities.

Thomas Simpson, M.D. (A69)

For a lifetime of exceptional service to his patients, his community, Sterling College and his profession.

Jack Sinagra (A72)

For a lifetime of exceptional public service, culminating in the Chairmanship of the Port Authority of New York.


2013 Class

We are proud to present the Recipients of the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Their stewardship of the spirit of the College of Emporia ensures that C. of E. will live on!

Sue Bowden (X71)

For the difference she has made in the lives of all children through her personal mission to protect their health and well-being.

L. Grace Branstetter Corrick (A60)

For her exemplary service locally and nationally to students and their life-long learning

Dale Raymond Corson (A34)

For his lifetime of distinguished service to the field of physics and higher education

Bob Charles Everoski (A68)

For his contributions to the field of astronomy and Masters’ Track and Field Events

Jessamine Ewert Guislain (A59)

For lovingly sharing her gift of music and her dedication to the dignity of all humanity

Ruth K. Keraus (A54)

For the joy she brought to others through her music and her commitment to peace and fairness

Barbara Brenner Mathis (X63)

For her altruism and the joy she brings to the world through her love of music.

Dr. Ben Nassim (A71)

For his research in organic chemistry and for leading ethically with kindness, humor and gusto

Vernon Louis Parrington (A1891)

For his contribution to historical understanding, to students’ thinking and for his independence

Jack W. Rickard (A57)

For the inspiration others gain through his painting, poetry, photography, and storytelling…and for giving life to Presby Pete!

Wadad Saba (X59)

For her lifelong encouragement of students to sing for joy and for sprinkling magic in the air to those around her

Laura M. Schlobohm (A41)

For being a guardian of youth, a remarkable educator, a champion for education

Dr. Dale B. Taylor (X61)

For his pioneer work in music therapy research and his contributions to the understanding of the brain and music as therapy

Harriet Adamson Wilkins (A59)

For her lifetime of service to others and her active involvement in the betterment of our world through volunteerism and leadership

David R. Young (A62)

For his contributions as a music educator to the performance and scholarly aspects of the marching band

A logo c of e.jpg